Posted by: timscooking | January 19, 2010

The Other White Meat: Pork Chops with Romesco Sauce

While we do eat our fair share of chicken, I had picked up some great looking thick-cut, boneless pork chops and decided to try them with a simple Romesco sauce. I started with one 8 oz. chop, a cup of grape tomatoes, a half cup of slivered almonds I had in the freezer and three cloves of peeled garlic.

I seasoned the chop with salt and pepper and then placed it along with the tomatoes, almonds and garlic into a preheated skillet with some olive oil. As the pork chop seared, the sauce ingredients took on a nice roasted color. After searing both sides of the chop (about ten minutes), I removed the chop from the pan and put the other ingredients and any remaining olive oil in the food processor. The pork chop went back into the pan and into a 450 degree oven for twelve minutes until a meat thermometer registered 160 degrees. I then took it out and covered, placed it on a cutting board and lightly covered it with foil.

While the chop was in the oven, I worked on the sauce. In addition to the roasted tomatoes, almonds and garlic, I added two tablespoons of sherry vinegar, a quarter teaspoon of chili powder, salt and pepper and processed the mixture for about thirty seconds. I then added a quarter cup of olive oil and pulsed the machine until the oil was throughly incorporated into the sauce. I checked for seasoning and let the sauce rest.

After the chop had been out of the oven for about ten minutes, I sliced it, giving my wife the well done ends which she prefers, while I took the center pieces which still had a slight blush on them and then I spooned a generous amount of the sauce over each portion.

I served the chop with some roasted fingerling potatoes and a salad of arugula dressed with lemon juice, olive oil and topped with goat cheese.

This sauce would also work well with chicken or fish. The sauce itself can be varied using sweet red or yellow peppers and different nuts.

Responses

  1. Hi! Your lovely wife informed me of your blog. Great dish and great idea. Hope to read more!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

