Posted by: timscooking | February 17, 2010

One Dressing – Two Salads

One way of stretching your food dollar while eating healthy is to stock your pantry with a number of ingredients that you can use to make great tasting and far from boring salads. This past week I found some red leaf lettuce on sale. While romaine lettuce is by far the lettuce of choice for most folks, red leaf lettuce offers a change of pace from it and the color looks great in a salad.

I made a honey mustard vinaigrette by combining 3 tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar, 2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard and 1 tablespoon of honey in a bowl and then drizzling in a 1/2 cup of good extra-virgin olive oil, all of which I whisked to bring together. I finished the dressing with 1 teaspoon of kosher salt and a 1/2 teaspoon of  fresh ground black pepper. This should make enough dressing for 4 salads.

On day one, I chopped half of the lettuce into manageable pieces and dressed it with half the dressing. The remaining dressing went into an air tight container in the fridge for day two. I topped this salad with some thin slices of red onion, a half cup of walnuts that I had roasted in a dry skillet for 5 minutes, a half cup of dried cranberries that I reconstituted in some hot water and a half cup of canned fried onions.

 Day two, I used the remaining lettuce and dressing, but this time, I topped the salad with some sliced red onion again, toasted a half cup of slivered almonds this time and sprinkled a quarter cup of grated parmesan cheese to finish the salad.

Either salad could be a great lunch with a roll or sliced baguette. For dinner, they would be good accompaniments for either a piece of grilled chicken or fish.

Responses

  1. I love honey mustard dressing and this sounds easy and good for you! I will be trying this one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

